Blue Stars: FIFA Youth Cup 2012

The Blue Stars/FIFA Youth Cup is a football tournament conducted annually by the international FC Blue Stars football club. The annual competition is held to showcase the skills of and promote sportsmanship among the best youth football teams in the world. The tournament attracts teams from all over the world, including some of the biggest names in the world of football, namely Brazil, Mexico, Spain, Australia, and South Africa.

Since the year 1939, the Blue Stars/FIFA Youth Cup 2012 has provided young and aspiring football players an avenue where they can nurture their skills and their love for the game and be exposed to the friendly competition and sportsmanship that are part and parcel of professional football. Among the stars that have played at the Blue Stars/FIFA Youth Cup are Josep Guardiola, Ryan Giggs, Jay-Jay Okocha, Kaka, and even one of the most successful and popular footballers of today, David Beckham.

Between the years 1936 and 1946, the tournament saw Swiss clubs dominate the winning ranks, but following this 10-year streak, three out of four subsequent titles were then claimed by Vienna. From then on, the event opened up to more international teams, including AC Milan, Strasbourg, Borussia Dortmund, and 1860 Munich, all of whom brought home titles before the 1980s rolled along.

From 1980 to 1999, the tournament was dominated by Roma, Inter, Cremonese, Celtic, FK Sarajevo, Read Madrid, Spartak Moscow, and Benfica, among many others. In 1999, the tournament also welcomed South American teams, which now share a total of five titles. English clubs are also highly acclaimed in the tournament, with Manchester United winning 16 times.

The 74th Blue Stars/FIFA Youth Cup 2012 Edition

The 2012 competition, which marked the 74th edition of the tournament, was held last May 16 and 17, 2012 at the Buchlern sports ground in Zurich, the tournament’s host city. The tournament was attended by some of the best young football talents in the world. Defending 2011 champions FC Porto took on various teams such as Panathinaikos, Borussia Monchengladbach, Besiktas, Zenit St. Petersburg, and FC Zurich. All of them, however, lost to Barcelona, who was hailed as the 2012 Blue Stars/FIFA Youth Cup champions.

About FC Blue Stars and FIFA

FC Blue Stars was an international football club based in Zurich. It was the first among all football clubs to have a separate section specifically for the youth. In 1991, FIFA took over as the official host of the tournaments.

Comments are closed.